I Love Food!!!

29 Mar

I guess being the first post in my blog, I should probably do a decent job of telling the world a little about me.  This will all be covered in my Bio but for now I have a few things I want to talk about.  But first…the disclaimer.  I’m not a trained chef…yet, I’m not a doctor and I’m FAR from a writer. This is just my opinions…that’s IT! Now…on to the show.

Where was I, AH Yes!  I love food! Man do I ever!  I love the way food tastes, when it’s good. I love the way a great dish can wake up senses we never knew we had. I love the way it makes us feel when we eat things that we had as a kid…You know what I’m talking about. Those “Comfort Foods”.  The ones that we just put in our mouths and the texture alone is enough to bring a tear to our face…ahhh.  But I digress…

I love to cook!  It’s the one thing that’s remotely creative that I do well. I mean, I try to play guitar, I can play drums well enough to do pretty good on Rockband and after a few shots of tequila, I’m a Karaoke MASTER!  But none of those things are at the level that one could call them a creative “outlet”.  A place that I can channel my emotion, my feeling, my desires, and my whole being…take that and put it into a dish.  Then when I see the look on someones face, when they bite into it and they get that “AH” look…it makes it all the more exciting.  I love how I get excited when I cook new things like the ostrich that I hope I am going to get in my mystery basket on day 9 in my Nutrition final here at JWU.  Or the fresh hand dived scallops that I’m aching to get my hands on from New England.  I can’t describe how it makes me feel, I get “gheddy” like I’m in the 3rd grade and were about go to to recess.  I live for that excitement!

I love to teach! One of the things I enjoy as an older student, is having a little life, and kitchen, experience and being called upon to share that with the 16, 17, 18, and 19 year old students in my class (if it’s wanted or not) really makes me feel good!  Like I can contribute something back to the great circle of life.

As I progress through my classes here at Johnson & Wales I am constantly searching for things that catch my eye.  See, as culinary students, we’re supposed to be focusing on techniques, learning things like braising, stewing, deep-fat frying, poaching, and things like that. Then when we get out of here, we are “supposed” to spend the next 5-7 years developing a mastery of those techniques and developing, what is called, our “style”.  I think that’s all fine and good if you’re 17 and you have 35-40 years in the kitchen ahead of you.  I was reading Daniel Boulud’s book, Letters to a Young Chef, in which Chef Boulud talks about this very topic.  It’s very rare for a great chef to start so late in life because it takes that kind of time to develop those skills.  And for the most part…I agree!  As much as it pains me to say it.  I’m old!  I don’t have 40 years left in me…I don’t think I do anyway.  But I have all that ground to cover.  Now dont get me wrong.  I’m not trying to be famous.  But I WANT to be a great chef! I WANT a Michelin star! I WANT to be the kind of chef people see and they just know…Hey this guy is capable of great things.  But to do so…I know it’s going to take accepting nothing less that excellence.  Notice I didn’t say perfect. That’s another thing it’s going to take…knowing the difference.  It’s going to take doing right. Right by the my chef(s), right by the customer, and doing right by me!  I’ve got to do in 5 years what most young chefs do in 7-10.  I know this…and it makes me love food even MORE!

I think that’s enough for now.  I could go on forever and I have a nutrition practical exam to practice for tomorrow.

Ciao,

B

2 Responses to “I Love Food!!!”

  1. Nonnie March 29, 2011 at 8:26 am #

    Loving the new blog B. So proud of you for following your passion. And I have no doubts about you reaching and exceeding your goals 🙂 Love ya babe.

  2. clara hernandez March 30, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

    B,
    love your blog..
    good luck, I plan to follow it.
    Clarita

Leave a Reply

