Got a Green Thumb?

13 Apr

Ya me neither. Lucky for me…and you, I learned of a place for people like you and I.  A few Saturdays ago, I was volunteering at the Cuisinart Center for Culinary Excellence as I do from time to time, and this particular weekend I was playing “prep monkey” for the ACF Competition Team.  One of the chefs pulls out this plastic container from a place called “The Chef’s Garden”.  Actually he had a few of them. I was curious, so I snapped a pic on the iPhone and decided to do a little research!

The Chef’s Garden, is located in the Great Lakes area, just off the shores of lake Erie.  Owned and operated by a father and his two sons, The Chef’s Garden has a great story!  I won’t give it all away because I want you to go check them out yourselves, but the concept is pretty awesome.  They grow seasonal and sustainable produce, herbs, garnishs, greens, and anything else you can think of, and they make it available to chefs!

How it works?  Simple! Go to the website, see whats in season, call them up, make your order, and they go pick it from the garden! They trim it, wash it, pack it and ship it.  Products can literally go from the garden to your kitchen, 24 hours from the time you hang up the phone!  AMAZING Concept!

I’m a fan! Make sure you guys visit them on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, and of course their website, Chefs-Garden.com

Leave a Reply

